leadership & Coordination


Updated Headshots.JPG

Staff for the Mount Arrowsmith Biosphere Region and its associated research institute at Vancouver Island University receive guidance and direction from a Roundtable of regional representatives from local First Nations (Snaw-naw-as, Qualicum, and Snuneymuxw), local and senior levels of government, Vancouver Island University, conservation organizations, forestry industry and local businesses, as well as two elected community representatives. 

Current Roundtable Representatives:

David Witty, Director - Daniel Sailland, CAO, Town of Qualicum Beach - Chris Burger, MABR Liaison for the City of Parksville - Ed Mayne, Mayor, City of Parksville - Brian Wiese, Mayor, Town of Qualicum Beach - Lawrence Mitchell, Councillor, Snaw-naw-as First Nation- Michael Recalma, Chief, Qualicum First Nation - Michael Wyse, Chief, Snuneymuxw First Nation - Geraldine Manson, Snuneymuxw First Nation - Kim Burden, Parksville & District Chamber of Commerce- Steve Adams, TimberWest - Ken Epps, Island Timberlands - Maureen Young, Regional District of Nanaimo - Ceri Peacey, Hamilton Marsh Committee, Community Representative- Sonja Zupanec, Islands Trust- Pam Shaw, Research Director, Mount Arrowsmith Biosphere Region Research Institute (MABRRI) - Graham Sakaki, Research & Community Engagement Coordinator, MABRRI - Haley Tomlin, Assistant Research & Community Engagement Coordinator, MABRRI.